Shawarma From My Freezer

Himself is a huge shawarma fan, vastly preferring it over falafel every time we go out to our local Israeli joint. So when he saw this recipe on the New York Times website, he asked me to make it. I took a look at it and said “huh, I bet I could prep that ahead and freeze it.” I happened to have two packs of chicken thighs in the fridge that either needed cooking or freezing, so I took about 10 minutes* and prepped the marinade, dumped it over the chicken in a gallon Ziploc freezer bag and popped in my freezer.

Last night, I took it out of the freezer and put it in the fridge. I chopped up some broccoli and put it on a sheet pan with olive oil, salt and za’atar. I dumped the chicken on another pan and shoved it and the broccoli into a screaming hot oven. I won’t say that my whole house smelled like a Middle Eastern restaurant, but the inside of my oven sure did.

Upon eating it, Himself remarked that he “liked this better than he usually likes chicken thighs.” That’s because these (like the grilled ones I made sometime last year that he also liked) are cooked at an insanely high temperature. This is the way you should cook boneless, skinless chicken thighs so that they taste good. I enjoyed it as well, although less than I might have because I had a dentist visit today. Definitely will make again.

Not actually my chicken. Food stylists are much better at presentation than I am.
If you think this is my chicken, you overestimate my abilities a lot.

*It took me a bit longer than normal to prep the marinade because I ran out of ground cumin and had to grind some fresh from seeds in my mortar and pestle.

Leave a Reply

