Asian BBQ Crockpot Chicken

So in the process of putting away bulk chicken cutlets, I realized I had quite a lot of barbecue sauce left in a Costco sized bottle. I’d already made up a batch of Applesauce BBQ Chicken (which I know needs a writeup) and was out of cranberry sauce. But I always keep a ton of Asian flavor staples in my pantry, and they sell bottled Asian BBQ sauces. So I figured that I could whip something up. It’s currently chilling in my freezer after a few mishaps in prep today. There will be a writeup as soon as I’ve cooked and eaten it! Obviously this is one to serve over rice, probably with a side of soy & sesame roasted broccoli.

Asian BBQ Crockpot Chicken

Ingredients:

  • 4 boneless skinless chicken breasts
  • 1 cup BBQ sauce (I use Sweet Baby Rays because that’s what you can get at Costco)
  • 1/4 cup soy sauce
  • 2 Tablespoons toasted sesame oil
  • 1 tsp chili paste (Sambal Oelek or Chili Garlic Paste)
  • 2 Tablespoons rice vinegar
  • 1/2 tsp cumin
  • 2 tsp freshly ground ginger
  • 3-6 minced garlic cloves (I use a lot, but not everyone likes as much garlic as I do)

Directions (If freezing):

  1. Dump all sauce ingredients into a gallon freezer bag
  2. Add chicken breasts
  3. Freeze flat until ready to use

Directions (If cooking right away)

  1. Mix all sauce ingredients in a bowl
  2. Dump over chicken breasts in crockpot
  3. Cook on low for 4-6 hours
Leave a Reply

