British Style Curry

I love Indian food. My favorite Indian restaurant back in NYC is Pongal, where they make an incredible Alu Gobi, Shahi Paneer and Channa Masala. But while I have a marked preference for the dairy and vegetarian dishes, Himself loved going to Shalom Bombay (where meat dishes were the only options). So when I started cooking Indian at home, I ended up trying to find a foolproof chicken curry recipe. One of these days (probably when Monster gives me a bit more time), I will start on some of the  earmarked recipes in both Indian Cooking Unfolded and The Big Book of Curries, but for now I have a more British style method that doesn’t have a precise recipe. It evolved from this recipe, but took a left turn when I read the chicken curry recipe in Indian Cooking Unfolded. There, the curry sauce goes into a blender (I use an immersion blender), and that produces the thick consistency Himself likes. This makes the food much less authentically Indian and far more British, but I’m OK with that.

British Style Curry

Ingredients:

  • Approximately 1-2 lbs of either boneless, skinless chicken or some sort of beef (I use pepper steak) cut into small pieces
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 1 can diced tomatoes
  • 5+ cloves of garlic, minced
  • 2+ T of minced ginger
  • 1 can coconut milk
  • curry powder
  • turmeric
  • garam masala
  • ground cumin
  • ground coriander
  • 1 package frozen cauliflower
  • 1 cup corn kernels
  • Frozen peas (optional)

Instructions:

  1. Brown the protein on high in a mixture of coconut oil and canola oil (or schmaltz) and remove to a bowl
  2. Dump the onions in the pan and cook until slightly browned
  3. Add the garlic and ginger and cook until it smells wonderful
  4. Add the spices – no specific amounts are given because it’s different any time I make it. Generally more of both the curry powder and garam masala than anything else.
  5. Deglaze the pan with the can of tomatoes and scrape up the lovely brown stuff on the bottom of the pan
  6. Add the can of coconut milk
  7. Hit the sauce with an immersion blender (or pour it into a blender) until smooth and thick
  8. Add the protein back in, along with the corn and cauliflower and cook on low for ~30 minutes
  9. Add the peas, if using
  10. Serve over basmati rice and garnish with chopped cilantro

Curry

2 thoughts on “British Style Curry

    • Probably not. Browning in the pot develops a lot of the underlying flavor. There are crockpot curries that I have yet to try, and will write them up when I do.

      Like

Leave a Reply

