Jarring Summer

Over the last few years, I’ve gotten into preservation. It’s a byproduct of belonging to a CSA – you feel really bad wasting the local produce. While living in a tiny Manhattan apartment, I mostly pickled things using the lacto-fermentation method. A couple of screw top jars don’t take up that much space. We don’t have that much more space here in Boston, but it’s organized differently enough that I have more storage room. So last summer I started to can. Mostly applesauce and apple butter, but a few small batch jams from Preserving By the Pint and Food in Jars. Having a mixed stone fruit jam to spread on my toast in the middle of winter was lovely. So this year I’m trying to get a head start.

So far, I’ve made strawberry jam from Food in Jars. Technically it’s supposed to be strawberry vanilla jam, but I didn’t have any vanilla beans. I compensated by swapping out half the sugar for vanilla sugar. I’m saving this one for a snowy morning in February, but I may have to open a test jar sooner.

Strawberry jam cooling
Strawberry jam cooling

Tonight I put up a batch of Raspberry Peach Spreadable Fruit from The America’s Test Kitchen DIY Cookbook. The smells of peach and sugar cooking together are fabulous, and I think this one will cheer me up in my yogurt come January.

Raspberry peach jam cooking
Raspberry peach jam cooking
Jars canning in a water bath
Jars canning in a water bath
Jars cooling on the counter
Jars cooling on the counter
Leave a Reply

